Serial Killers

Author: Castin

Total: 41
Castin
Debates: 0
Castin
Are there any serial killers or cases that have caught your particular interest or notice? They've certainly left their footprint on pop culture.
RationalMadman
Debates: 555
RationalMadman
I am a huge student of the psychopathic mindset as it taught me a lot about how to deal with them and also how to become ruthless and a winner in life without losing my emotions along the way.

I can explain both the psychopath and the sociopath to you and why one becomes a serial killer.
Zeichen
Zeichen
Interesting.

lol
Castin
Castin
Why is Jack the Ripper so much more famous and iconic than any other serial killer. He killed like five people. I know, I know, you're gonna say the Dear Boss letters, plus Jack was never caught, yellow journalism, sensationalism, blah blah. I still think his grip on the human imagination is out of proportion. I remember an episode of the original Star Trek where he turned out to be an immortal interplanetary malicious energy.

Buddamoose
Debates: 4
Buddamoose
-->
@Castin
Hrmmm, i can see ur point. He wasn't all that out of the ordinary. H.H. Holmes, or a variety of others however, thats some wtf shit. 

Maybe the Ripper just hit a sweet spot. Just heinous enough, but not too much so as to be obscenely so, and organically grew into this blown out of proportion figure. 

Plus you gotta admit, "Jack the Ripper" is hella catchy 🤔

Thoth
Debates: 6
Thoth
My father was apparently childhood friends with a future serial killer. For privacy reasons, I won't specify which.
keithprosser
keithprosser
-->
@Castin
I'd wonder if the date is important.   Newspapers, wider literacy, the telegraph, increased mobility etc were all kicking off around that time.   We talked about the Mona Lisa which became the iconic painting around the same time and Einstein became the first scientist to be world famous then too.