A liberal's rant about liberals

Author: Castin

Total: 11
Castin
Debates: 0
Castin
I'm a progressive. I saw a Bill Maher piece recently that perfectly sums up my feelings about political correctness. Thought I'd post it here in case anyone wanted a laugh.

TheDredPriateRoberts
TheDredPriateRoberts
-->
@Castin
first I would urge you to not label yourself and put yourself into a box, secondly if you really want to do so, you should probably pick a different label as what the general public accepts and calls progressiveness, is probably something you are actually not, if you identify with that video.  In fact I think he does a good job of defining progressives as they are talked about and displayed on the media.
Castin
Castin
-->
@TheDredPriateRoberts
I don't think any of us like labels or fit neatly into them, but we use them to give strangers a brief ballpark idea of where we stand.

But okay, if I'm not a progressive then what am I. I believe in progress. And that means letting progress in science, morality, and philosophy inform and influence our politics. I'm big on NASA and scientific research and achievement. A cornerstone of my worldview comes from this Sagan quote, which should be familiar to many.

“Look again at that dot. That's here. That's home. That's us. On it everyone you love, everyone you know, everyone you ever heard of, every human being who ever was, lived out their lives. The aggregate of our joy and suffering, thousands of confident religions, ideologies, and economic doctrines, every hunter and forager, every hero and coward, every creator and destroyer of civilization, every king and peasant, every young couple in love, every mother and father, hopeful child, inventor and explorer, every teacher of morals, every corrupt politician, every "superstar," every "supreme leader," every saint and sinner in the history of our species lived there -- on a mote of dust suspended in a sunbeam.