DART's fatal flaw - The voting system is unsustainable and doesn't scale

Author: MrMaestro

Total: 33
MrMaestro
Debates: 4
MrMaestro
Hey guys, I'm a newbie here, got recommended to this site from DDO. I'm so glad to have found an active debate community where debates actually get judged!

I'm concerned with the long-term implications of the voting structure. Running to admins with every single vote people disagree with is not a scalable solution. If this site takes off, the judges (who I assume are volunteers) will get overloaded very quickly. When volunteers get overloaded, they quit. This happened on DDO too. With that said I'm in favor of the strict voting rules. I like that judges are forced to carefully weigh both sides. 

edeb8 allows users to rate and comment judgments as various levels of constructive and assigns a judgment score to your profile. This score is sufficient enough that most users work to make their judgments better and more constructive. A similar feature could be added here - simply allow other users to rate judgments, with special emphasis on which rules were/weren't adhered too.

Also, the voting section should definitely mention something about the strict voting rules - too many people are unwittingly getting their votes deleted because they didn't read through the code of conduct.
RationalMadman
Debates: 556
RationalMadman
-->
@MrMaestro
Totally disagree with this. DDO failed because they banned passionate users who would have willingly judged and only let the uncaring sycophants be the sole vote-moderators.

If it gets too heavy a workload, hire more delegated-lesser-mod roles that answer to the Chief moderator.
MrMaestro
MrMaestro
-->
@RationalMadman
I agree with you - DDO gave too much power to too few people. When those people inevitably quit, the website went to sh!t. 

That's why I'm in favor of crowd-sourcing solutions like they have on edeb8. People care about their elo ranking, why wouldn't they care about a judgment ranking?