AMA - Ask a Biology Teacher About Science

Author: MagicAintReal

Total: 75
MagicAintReal
Debates: 12
MagicAintReal
Hey everyone, MagicAintReal here, I currently teach Biology in a thriving public school district in Maryland, USA (my district will remain nameless so as to keep my job).
I have 12 years of experience, and, as a result, have heard just about every comment/question about biology and science for that matter.
So, I figured I'd see if high school students match the members of DebateArt with their inquiry.
Alright, I'll shut up.

Ask Me Anything about science...if it bleeds into another convo not too scientific, that's ok, but try to stay on task here.

Ramshutu
Debates: 43
Ramshutu
-->
@MagicAintReal
Lets keep rooted in biology!

What do you feel is the most interesting of the Pre Cambrian Biota, and why? If relevant, could you explain where you feel it fits into the general evolutionary tree compared to those in the Cambrian?

MagicAintReal
MagicAintReal
I mean for me it's going to be the first multi cellular animals or any of the metazoans because they were the first to use atmospheric oxygen to grow, which over time, required these soft-bodied animals to become more rigid and structured and this led to animals with basic skeletons. Once animals moved from soft bodied to hard bodied, that to me is why there was a huge cambrian explosion because now you have organisms that can catch more suspended food given that they are larger and more rigid than their soft bodied ancestors, and they are great at using atmospheric oxygen to grow, a crucial component of all cellular life.
Basically you can think of pre cambrian as the soft bodies and the cambrian as the hard bodies and this is what led to that explosion.
Mharman
Debates: 18
Mharman
-->
@MagicAintReal
Have you ever seen "Monster Bug Wars"?
MagicAintReal
MagicAintReal
-->
@Mharman
Oh yeah where like insects face spiders and centipedes fight...fucking amazing, I could watch that instead of MMA sometimes.