Does Kritikal debate have a place here?

Author: Bugsy460

Total: 7
Bugsy460
Debates: 4
Bugsy460
1. I'm a bit new to this platform, I used to have an account and I used it for a month about a year ago, but I got super busy with personal issues and dropped it, but I'm back, and saying that, I'm curious how useful kritiks are on this platform. I see a lot of debates say they aren't allowed in the rules, so I was curious how often they are used when not banned and if people are willing to vote on them.

2. As a second question, should kritiks have a space on this platform. I'm a part of live debate circuits and kritiks are everywhere and it brings a lot of questions if they're good or bad for debate as a whole and I wanted to get some opinions on that.

whiteflame
Debates: 27
whiteflame
-->
@Bugsy460
Long story shot, Kritiks can still work here, but they are rather technical and many voters may not understand them if you use them. There are also some restrictions on their usage, as you point out, though honestly I don't think that those efforts serve much of a purpose. We could absolutely have a space for them, though providing a primer on Kritiks would probably be important before implementing such a feature.
Bugsy460
Debates: 4
Bugsy460
-->
@whiteflame
Out of curiosity, what do you mean by a primer?

Vader
Debates: 30
Vader
-->
@Bugsy460
As a judge (which I don't do much), I don't value the K as much as some judge

FMPOV, K's I know are usually slippery slope K's and I can see any K fitting in this category. Even basic K's I read (Neolib, Cap, Fem Eq), have slippery slopes that I find hard to merit as a judge in a debate. I prefer a good DA debate or even a CP debate
whiteflame
Debates: 27
whiteflame
-->
@Bugsy460
I think of a primer as a short introduction to a complex topic. In this case, clarifying what a Kritik is, how it functions, why it exists, and how it is generally structured would be good points to  cover.
oromagi
Debates: 117
oromagi
-->
@whiteflame