Teacher ending class early

Author: Polyglot

Total: 16
Polyglot
Debates: 0
Polyglot
I’m curious on your opinion. I’m an ESL teacher who teachers private group classes to adult English learners, each class being an hour.

After teaching for about 55 minutes I will naturally end the lesson and leave the last 5 minutes for student questions and clarification. If no questions are asked, I will end early, no more than 5 minutes early.

However, my students began complaining that I end class early, even after they stated they have no questions. It feels unnatural to force something in those last 5 minutes just so they get “their full money worth”. Are these students unreasonable in asking for their 5 minutes?
Lemming
Debates: 6
Lemming
-->
@Polyglot
'Sounds that way, yeah.
So long as you aren't making classes 5 minutes long and ending them 55 minutes early, seems ideal to have some flexibility time, yet still be able to impart the full lesson.
(Edit)
Though I suppose if someone is paying by the hour, they may want to feel they are getting a full hours worth of instruction, maybe they feel five minutes a day over times adds up.
oromagi
Debates: 117
oromagi
-->
@Polyglot
re these students unreasonable in asking for their 5 minutes?
One approach might be tell them that what is unreasonable is to have no questions after 55 minutes of English language.  The English language is a messed up thing- a nasty tangle of influences. 

What if you didn't let them loose but instead started asking them questions to see how well they understood but told them they could interrupt with questions of their own at any time.  That might motivate them to think of questions and free you up from lesson planning and yet give the learners their full five minutes.
Polyglot
Polyglot
Usually the students are given plenty of question time throughout the lesson as well. Me asking them if they have more questions at the end is just a way to hint that the class is ending.