I started playing HOI4

Author: Best.Korea

Total: 12
Best.Korea
Debates: 299
Best.Korea
So I got the game as I was recommended to get it, and of course it offers you to play as many sides. I admit, I was tempted to pick Japan, but I figured for a first play its best that I play as a main character, so I picked to play as Hitler.

Right after game starts, there are so many buttons and its a bit difficult to find whats what until you get used to it.

Right away, I started building military, air force, bombers, tanks, ships...

I am still not sure how resources in game work, but apparently, game lets you pick to build military factories or civilian factories on each territory, but I built mostly military factories.

I kinda dislike the fact that it takes such a long time to declare war, but I guess thats realistic as it takes time to convince the public and build up justifications for war.

For a first time playing, the game is very confusing as it bombards you with too many buttons to click on, and it takes a long time to click on each to see what each does.

But so far it seems simple: build strong military, declare war, and conquer.

I am not sure how beneficial it is to build bombers so early in the game, as I think I have more bomber planes productions lined up than I have for anything else.

However, I like the game so far as despite being complicated, it also has simple elements to it and I dont think I can fail if I just focus on military.
RationalMadman
Debates: 574
RationalMadman
I think someone recently told me that being stuck behind a screen with 'art of war' games and such isn't how to get real experience of battles but how to stay delusional that one is good at them.
ILikePie5
Debates: 3
ILikePie5
What does that stand for 
JoeBob
Debates: 3
JoeBob
-->
@ILikePie5
Hearts of Iron 4
Best.Korea
Best.Korea
-->
@juniorrationalmadman