High Schools need to teach financial literacy

Author: thett3

Total: 15
thett3
Debates: 2
thett3
I've seen too many of my peers make absolutely ruinous financial decisions. Mostly in regard to student loans, but also credit card debt, buying cars far to expensive for their incomes, paying as much for rent as they are allowed to, etc.

There are always going to be people who make poor choices, but the financial illiteracy of the average student coming out of High School (or really just Americans in general) is appalling. They don't understand compound interest, just how destructive credit card debt is or how powerful even small investments can become given enough time. They don't understand how to invest, how to save for retirement,  how to budget. Most importantly, many kids coming out of High School have absolutely no idea what things cost, or what reasonable income and saving expectations are. "Sure I'll be $80,000 in debt but the starting salary in my major is $50,000. I can pay it off in a few years, tops." Uhh...no. That is a decade, if you're lucky. I know people in this EXACT situation, who very foolishly made decisions to go to college out of state for exorbitant tuition when they never would have made that choice if they understood anything about personal finance.

I am convinced that a great many of the people I know would be substantially better off if they had even a rudimentary education on finance. It's absolutely criminal that our society allows 18 year olds with no assets or income sign up for non dischargeable debt that can reach to the six figures without providing them in their TWELVE years of education the information necessary to understand that decision. These kids are the future, if you cripple them at the beginning of their adult lives, the next generation isn't going to materialize at all.
thett3
thett3