I’m looking to vote on a few (~4-5) debates this week!

Author: Tejretics

Total: 6
Tejretics
Debates: 7
Tejretics
Hi! I’m Tejretics. I was this site’s Voting Moderator back in 2018, and have voted on a bunch of debates both here and on DDO. I’m a college student studying math and economics. 

I’m hoping to vote on a few (4-5) high quality (no forfeits) debates on here in the next two weeks. DM me or reply to this forum post if you’d like a vote on a debate! In case you’d like to get a feel for me as a judge, check out my RFDs on these debates:

I’ve got a fair bit of experience judging formal/competitive debate, primarily in parli formats. Some notes on me as a judge:

• I tend to be quicker to discount bare assertions than many other judges on here. Some people think that’s a good application of tabula rasa judging. Others don’t. 
  • I don’t default to utilitarianism when weighing arguments. I’m personally pretty consequentialist, but what ethical framework to use is up for debate, and I won’t insert my ethics into it. 
  • I think good debating involves having clear, logical warrants for arguments and having empirical evidence. The two aren’t substitutes for each other: they’re complements. Lots of judges will vote on a statistic. I might vote on a well-defended study, but I’m unlikely to vote on a single statistic. 
  • I will read your sources. If you cite a source and claim it says something it doesn’t, I’ll treat it as a bare assertion. However, I won’t credit you for anything you don’t say in the debate (e.g. if your source makes a different argument, or if your study has something in-built which preempts your opponent’s challenge to the study, I won’t credit it unless you bring that up to defend the source).