Fight Club gets a new ending in China - and the authorities win

Author: RationalMadman

Total: 34
RationalMadman
Debates: 565
RationalMadman
You may think I am kidding and that this is satire...

YOU CAN'T MAKE THIS SHIT UP.
Intelligence_06
Debates: 167
Intelligence_06
I am no expert but didn't this movie end in the late 1990s?
oromagi
Debates: 117
oromagi
-->
@RationalMadman
Unsurprising.  How can a well-ordered totalitarian state permit a narrative where the terrorists win?

But keep in mind this is progress in one sense.  It's not like the Chinese have been watching Fight Club for twenty years and now changed the ending.  No.  The movie has been entirely banned since its original release and is now available to the Chinese for the first time.

The list of movies and tv shows banned in China is truly mind-boggling.

Back to the Future is banned because it is illegal to tell stories depicting time travel in China.

Babe is banned because it illegal to depict talking animals in China.

Pirates of the Caribbean is banned because it is illegal to depict ghosts in China.

Chinese authorities are constantly, relentlessly controlling Chinese thought by banning and altering media.  The Chinese govt. permitted the recent Friends reunion show to be released after removing all references to Lady Gaga, Justin Bieber, and BTS who are all, of course, banned in China.

In news that cannot  be considered  progress, this week, an all-Republican Kentucky school board banned the Pulitzer-Prize winning graphic novel Maus for depicting the Holocaust as something that happened.
RationalMadman
RationalMadman
-->
@oromagi
The actual ending of Fight Club

SPOILER ALERT

Is that the war has just begun, nobody's won yet. There was supposed to be a Fight Club 2, based on the ending.
oromagi
oromagi
-->
@Intelligence_06
I am no expert but didn't this movie end in the late 1990s?

Do you feel free to talk about censorship in China? If you choose to not respond I understand.
Intelligence_06