A Parting Gift

Author: Nyxified

Total: 10
Nyxified
Debates: 21
Nyxified

I wanted to give some of the most important debate lessons I learned before I go.

I've been involved in dozens of IRL debate tournaments, both in-person and virtual. I've been doing IRL debating for 4 years. I was the president of debate club at my highschool before I graduated. I have ranked among the best speakers in my province and several times have performed better than any other team in Peel region in tournaments. I say this not to brag, but rather to establish that I know what I'm talking about.

1. Speeches should be 10-20% fluff and 80-90% stuff. Fluff is anything that aims to elicit an emotional reaction or summarize/introduce/roadmap/make things easier to understand; anything that does not directly add on to your arguments. If you're debating to win, framing the debate in a way that leads to people thinking you represent the moral position or summarizing things so people can easier understand/conceptualize what you mean (ESPECIALLY when looking back on your speech to vote), fluff will often be how voters/the judge will remember the debate and can easily win you the whole thing.
  2. Roadmap and summarize. Segment the debate as much as possible. Do not try and intertwine one point or one rebuttal with another (though your rebuttals also contributing to your arguments is fine). Knowing exactly what you are saying is INCREDIBLY important. You don't want to lose because a voter didn't understand what you were trying to say. Where possible, summarize every argument or rebuttal with logical premises that inevitably lead to a conclusion. What comes before that summary should be proving each of those premises and how they inevitably lead to the conclusion.