Efficient Markets Hypothesis

Author: cristo71

Total: 15
cristo71
Debates: 1
cristo71
I’ve heard of EMH, but I’m no expert! I understand that it is taught in college economics and is the dominant explanation for market prices. So, for those more familiar, I have a few questions:

1. How does EMH account for “corrections”? Doesn’t a correction mean things were overpriced?
2. How does EMH account for equities which are overbought or oversold? When a trend is overdone, doesn’t that imply an inefficiency in pricing?
Best.Korea
Debates: 251
Best.Korea
Lets say that buyers have 30 dollars.

There are 2 sellers. Each seller offers 2 bottles of water for sale.

First seller thinks he will be more competitive if he lowers the price.

So he sets price at 5$ per bottle.

The second seller knows that there will be shortages, so he sets price at 10$ per bottle.

At start, people rush to buy 5$ water bottles from the first seller due to them being cheaper.

However, the first seller quickly runs out of water bottles, and earns 10$.

Second seller, who kept price at 10$ per bottle, is now the only one who has bottles for sale. People buy from him now. He earns 20$, which is double than the first seller.

So usually, the prices are somewhat determined by amount of money that buyers have and amount of supply that seller has. Although this is not precise and there are too many unknowns.

I dont know if this has anything to do with your question, and I dont care. I didnt even go to economic school lmao lol xd but still, you should unconditionally believe everything I say.
ILikePie5
Debates: 2
ILikePie5
-->
@cristo71
I’ve heard of EMH, but I’m no expert! I understand that it is taught in college economics and is the dominant explanation for market prices. So, for those more familiar, I have a few questions:
Yes, if you’re a believer in the EMH, active management has no effect on returns because information is already reflected in prices.